Hey all! Just a site-maintenance-y note. As of July 2nd, I am moving to Việt Nam for about thirteen months. Mostly I’ll be teaching, but I also want to find the time to research Vietnamese folk culture. And, you know, learn Vietnamese. I’m hopeful that I’ll be able to find a lovely wireless cafe somewhere in Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh (Hồ Chí Minh City [formerly Sài Gòn]) where I can happily blog away.

So look for more Southeast Asia-centered posts to be coming in the future! Of course I also hope to cover my normal stuff, aka scholarly analysis of tales and ranting about pop culture. But there’ll also be a travel aspect to this blog in the future, and as always, I hope to update more.

If anyone has any suggestions of things to do in Việt Nam, or topics they’d like to see covered, send me a carrier pigeon!

