Yes I admit it…I like Gregory Maguire. I know. How boringly contemporary of me. But I’ll stick by him. I really loved Wicked and Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister.

Lately though, he’s been in a bit of a slump. Son of a Witch was pretty bad, mostly because it stayed in Oz, followed a character nobody liked from Wicked, and didn’t add anything new to Oz’s universe.

You think he would’ve learned.

A new book from the world of Oz will be hitting the stores soon: A Lion Among Men, which tells the story of the Cowardly Lion. Ah! Not again!

Gregory: stay true to your roots! Let’s have a retelling of Hansel and Gretel, or the Frog Prince! Go out in a blaze of revisionist glory! I mean, what’s next? “If I Only Had a Heart: The Saga of the Tin Man.” I can just seeing it being made into a Lifetime Original movie…

(end rant)

